PROPERTIES OF STONES

I like to make pieces that incorporate the properties of the beautiful stones and thus do more than simply accessorize the wearer. As a result, I like to know the properties of the stones that I have, the ones my customers want, and pretty ones I have seen. I depend on my vendors to know what they are selling (and to be truthful about it!!!! — I can’t stand it when things are misrepresented are falsely labeled, for sure!)

Although there are many good books on stones, my favorite book of all time, for its extensive listing and description of stones of all kinds, is Love Is in the Earth by Melody. When I first started getting interested in stones, every time I went to a show, I would see people referring to this book (I never noticed anyone using any other book). I quickly figured that, at least if I wanted to be cool, I should have that book, so I budgeted it, and finally got it. That was years ago…. and I have never regretted what was, at the time, a pretty big expenditure…. it is still the book I see at shows and in shops, and it is the book which helps me feel confident that that I am giving my customers the best value.
There is also a pictorial/photographic book by Melody Love Is in the Earth – Mineralogical Pictorial: Treasures of the Earth (Love is in the Earth)

Two other books I like are Judy Hall’s The Crystal Bible, and The Encyclopedia of Crystals, in that order.

Katrina Raphaell‘s books are classics. It has been said that some of Melody’s research was largely based on Raphaell’s work: I’d say that, in all likelihood, any writer of any quality will have read these books before putting out an authoritative work. The first one, Crystal Enlightenment: The Transforming Properties of Crystals and Healing Stones, is probably the most useful for most basic users. Nevertheless, Crystal Enlightenment: The Transforming Properties of Crystals and Healing Stones, the second in the series, and Crystalline Transmission: A Synthesis of Light (Crystalline Transmission – A Synthesis of Light), the final book of Raphaell’s trilogy, provide very useful information to those interested in in-depth study.

I have also found Diane Stein‘s book,Healing With Gemstones and Crystals (Crossing Press Healing Series) useful. I enjoy reading just about anything from Stein, who has, through her extensive research work, fashioned herself into the quintessential New Age healing modalities go-to author.

I do not think a listing of the metaphysical properties of stones and their uses would be complete without mentioning the Scott Cunningham‘s Cunningham’s Encyclopedia of Crystal, Gem & Metal Magic. Cunningham, who left us far too early, was primarily interested in Wicca-related pursuits, however this book does contain information I have not seen elsewhere (you’ve been warned)

I also use the Garudas books, Gem Elixirs and Vibrational Healing Volume I and Gem Elixirs and Vibrational Healing Volume II (Gem Elixirs & Vibrational Healing). These books mainly deal with elixirs, or essences, made from stones, but they give interesting and unique information on the qualities of the stones. I do always refer back to these books when I am looking for obscure esoteric information.

Lastly, I’d like to mention this rather interesting book that I have recently come across. Although I haven’t seen Robert Simmons’ The Book of Stones: Who They Are and What They Teach, itself, in person, yet, I have read a number of excerpts, which make me want to own it

excuse me…. I need to go look up a rock… (I have actually found a metaphysical property for beach glass, believe it or not!!!!)
I am in the process of finding new stone sites, as I speak… I will be bui
lding my links into a page…. some day soon…..

Leave a Reply

