New Ideas… Excitement

Several things have happened all at the same time. I received a copy of the Winter issue of Step by Step Wire Jewelry, and I received three strings of beads I had won on ebay. One strand is little black tourmaline “rice” beads, and the other two are amazonite with black tourmaline and pyrite (I have heard it called “black stripe amazonite”). I have some big rectangles of this stone, which I am waiting to figure out what to do with, but these are little flat ovals and coins, and my mind is already turning over ideas. (right now I am plotting a ring, which I have never seen the likes of, and I am thinking of using a similar size cuprite/chrysocolla, or something else that will go well with brass, and making the ring with brass first before I go for the silver/amazonite/black tourmaline one. This will be the first time ever that I make a test piece before just plunging in and making what I want. Am I nervous? or just prudent?

Whatever… I have two days off to figure out how to do this thing, and I am broke, so it’s just me, the tv, the wire, and the dream now.

This issue of Step by Step Wire Jewelry is not all that breathtaking, if truth be told. I was really excited about this magazine when it came out, and the first couple of issues were jam packed with really cool things, but it seems that lethargy has taken hold or something…. this one was on the lackluster side. I can get inspiration from the boring, however, so I am still poring over it — I love the ads in this magazine, and I have gotten lots of ideas about what I want to buy and where I can get it. If nothing else, the ad list is useful — I have just spent four hours going through the sites whose ads I had marked and deciding which of those belong in my blog links for their ideas and tutorials… I have added more links to the links page. Since I have subscribed to the magazine, I sure do hope it will be more exciting in coming issues.

I have found some interesting sites with tutorials and design ideas, and I have I have added them to my Links page. I have also added some to drool for links to the Jewelry-Making Supplies page. (some sites have wound up on both pages). The best ones, by me, are the clasp suppliers.  (I have not included the supplier who carries $200 clasps. If you think that is a do-able  price, you will have to find her by yourself)


Leave a Reply

