EBAY BUYER BEWARE: Know what you’re buying. Many vendors try to cheat you

Post #94
When you are buying on ebay, if you are looking for a particular stone, be sure you know what that stone is.  Many vendors will try to cheat you, either knowingly or unknowingly (I say it this way because it may be that the vendor really doesn’t know what they are selling and are just going with what they were told by some factory in China — I say *China* because that is where I have seen the most discrepancies coming from).  

I normally avoid Chinese vendors like the plague because I have had precious few positive experiences with them. When I started out on ebay, I thought I was dealing with “buyer beware”, and that I was stuck with what I had stupidly bought.  I have since found that I can appeal to ebay and get my money back.   I also know that I should contact the seller of the false merchandise first, and I do that,  and, normally, after a little back and forth, the vendor of false merchandise will back down.

Still, I want to warn you about huass85.  Any and everything I have ever gotten from them has been something other than what I was bidding for.  The last thing I bought from them, a few weeks ago, was something that I know well and use for specific purposes, and was really looking forward to getting.   I was horrified to discover that the beads I had planned to use for a commissioned piece were NOT what I needed and had bidded on (by name).  The beads are some sort of stone (they do not feel like glass), but they are dyed, and they are translucent, whereas the stone (name) I was bidding on is neither translucent nor transparent. I am currently in negotiations with them for the first time (I didn’t know I could dispute the merchandise I had been sent before)

You will encounter false representations in most popular stones. Turquoise is one of the primary ones (magnesite is one of the most common stones that are beautifully dyed and then sold to the unaware as turquoise — I don’t mind this one – I can use magnesite.  Tourmaline is also commonly listed, while other stones are actually being sold.  Another false representation is “assembled” stone, were “assembled” means “man–made” – you see this in fake turquoise, fake amber, and a number of other popular stones.) 

The bottom line is: know what it is that you want. Know the properties and look of the stones  you want to buy.  Do not hesitate to challenge the seller if you believe you have been sold something other than what you wanted.  If the seller will not settle with you, escalate to ebay.

Leave a Reply

