TWO MORE COOL BOOKS ABOUT STONES TO ADD TO MY COLLECTION

Yesterday, I received my copy of The Curious Lore of Precious Stones, by George Frederick Kunz.   This is an old book, originally published in 1913. My edition was re-published in 1971.  (I used to have this book in the 1970s, but it got away from me, so I am very happy to have it again). This is kind of a scholarly look into the lore of stones, i.e, what it is said they will do.  Still, it has a lot of information.

Today, I got this very beautiful coffee table-type book by Desmond Morris, called Bodyguards.  This was published in 1999, but I knew nothing about it when I began to name my line of protective stone jewelry pieces “bodyguards”. (Desmond Morris is, perhaps, most famous for his book ,The Naked Ape.) I picked up this book from my mailbox about 2 hours ago, and I am working my way through it. It is another “academic” type book, yet it has been laid out with lovely photos, making it more the sort of thing you would set out on your coffee table.  The information within it is definitely worthwhile if you are working with stones and their properties .  I got this hardcover edition on amazon.com for $4.00, including shipping.  It is used, but the person who used it didn’t use it much – it looked totally new when I received it.  I’m about halfway through, and I just can’t stop! The pictures are beautiful, and the information is so useful!

Leave a Reply

