COMING BACK

I’m getting back into it. To date, I’ve made 7 bracelets!  It was slow going… I couldn’t figure out what was stopping me, and, then, one day, I looked at the necklace I was wearing, and knew!  I needed to wire!  In the space of 2 weeks,  I made 4 bracelets! (I made the other three with beading wire. Although I like the feel of that kind of bracelet, I think the work I was doing was too heavy for it: 1 fell off and was lost, 1 fell off and part of the clasp was lost, but I caught the bracelet, and the other fell off at home, so I still have it and all of the parts.)

Sadly, jewelrylessons.com closed its doors last year, and there went all of the tutorials I had bought through them (safe and re-accessible is only good as long as the company is safe and re-accessible). My bad! I was out of touch, and so missed the announcement. Oh well.

I’ve been looking at the sites of people whose tutorials I had bought before my computer crashed and died. I really like the work of Abby Hook (abbyhook.co.uk), Donna Spadafore (gailavira.com ), and Nicole Hanna (nicolehannajewelry.com). Each of these artists also writes wonderful tutorials, so we can learn to make something like what they have made (although my stuff only turns out to look as if I  had once seen something by them, and then set about to make it in my sleep a few years later).  I’ve actually sent off for Abby Hook’s book, hoping that it will have some of the tutorials which I’ve lost.

The most exciting thing is that I went to my storage and got out almost all of my bead stash (which has been in storage for about 3 years). Wow! That was like having an unlimited gift card to my favorite bead store!  So many beautiful stone/crystal beads… many of which have so risen in price that I could only dream about them now.  Oh! Lapis! Turquoise! Amethyst! Malachite! Aqua Aura crystal! Azurite! Sugilite! Pyrite! Chrysocolla! Amazonite! A whole box of tourmaline – most of it beautiful black tourmaline beads of various sorts! and more…..

As soon as I can figure out how to use the camera on my phone, I’ll post some pics of the things I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

